Singing in the Rain

Drinking Buddy asked me a few weeks ago if I would be interested in seeing Singing in the Rain at the AMC at Town Center. It is the 60th Anniversary of what most people consider Hollywood’s greatest musical. She thought it might count towards my 30 before 30 and I was definitely interested.

I’ll be honest, I’ve never seen it. The screening included an interview with Debbie Reynolds prior to the actual movie which I thought was very fun. As soon as I saw Debbie I was excited. You see, Debbie is linked to my idol Elizabeth Taylor. Debbie lost her first husband to Elizabeth. Eddie Fischer left Debbie when he fell in love with Elizabeth immediately after Elizabeth’s third husband died. Elizabeth and Debbie were BFFs. It’s all very Hollywood and total scandal. Debbie and Elizabeth made up years later. How could you stay mad at Elizabeth?! Besides, sorry Debbie, but Elizabeth is the most beautiful woman in the world and you can’t compete with that.

If you have seen the film or just want to learn a little more, here’s a fun article with 25 things you didn’t know.

Apparently Gene Kelly was quite demanding as he not only starred but also co-directed the film. Debbie was young and NOT a dancer and she said the two hardest things she’s ever done are childbirth and Singing in the Rain.

Wanna see that iconic dance in the rain? Ok, here. I actually liked a different number better. Perhaps because it was new – to me. The visual was just so beautiful. And so was the girl. Here’s my fav. And it cost $600,000 to shoot that scene. Of course that’s the one I like. Trophy. Wife.

And Gene Kelly? Who knew he was so hot?! First Marlon Brando, now Gene Kelly? Can we please go back to those days? You know I think they don’t make films like that anymore and I’d argue that they don’t make men like that either. Just don’t tell Ryan Reynolds I said that. Or Channing Tatum.

I thought the film was amazing. It was a little slow at times but most older films are. The music was awesome, the dancing was stunning, the comedy was adorable. Check it out if you haven’t already seen it, totally worth seeing.

Comment!

