Party Animals

The long weekend meant I got to mark off a few things from my Dirty Thirtylist. First, I watched a classic. A Streetcar Named Desire. Who knew Marlon Brando was so hot back in his day? That’s about the only positive thing I have to say. I mean I’d read the play back in high school so I knew it was going to be slow but not even Vivien Leigh and hot Marlon Brando could make up for the black and white.
The other item I marked off the list was that trip to the zoo. When I mentioned our zoo trip to Drinking Buddy she said she didn’t think we were really zoo people. She might have been right.
Before we left, National Geographic Photographer was so super excited:
007

Jamie picked us up and when we arrived we headed over to the sea lions to meet up with Jana and her adorable family.

008

Cade was pretty excited about the whole thing as well.

010

The KC Zoo has everything you’d expect from a zoo:

Monkeys

011

Flamingos

015

Elephants

016

017

Cute Babies. Oh wait, we brought that one. And she slept through most of the zoo.

018

Cade didn’t miss a thing.

019

020

National Geographic Photographer took over the fancy camera from me and snagged this gem:

022

They’re just cuddling.

He also took the rest of these:

After the first few hours it got really hot. And I remembered every other trip I’d taken to a zoo.

023

025

And then we got to the gorillas. I have this phobia. Of gorillas. I always thought they were pretty scary (so big!) and then several years ago I saw the movie 28 Days Later. And it solidified all of my fears.

026

Luckily these guys were pretty far away.

This guy was a little too close for comfort. National Geographic Photographer took this one. And I hid WAY behind everyone else.

028

You think that glass could keep him in if he wanted to get out and tear me limb from limb? Get serious.

It was about this time that we decided to pack it up and head out. But not before getting a photo of the girls.

030

And a Rhino.

031

And a  Giraffe (and zebras)

032

And a Hippo

033

IT WAS HOT.

Before we could leave though we had to catch the big attraction of the KC Zoo. The Polar Bear. He was very popular so I could only get one photo.

035

He was swimming and showing off for everyone. I was quite impressed.

Who wants to see more pictures of the cute kids?

Oh, alright!

036

037

It’s such a pleasure watching Jana’s family grow. She has settled into her role as their mother so graciously while remaining a great friend to Jamie and I. I’m so lucky to have Jamie and Jana in my life.

Several hours after arrival we took a couple group photos.

038

039

Check this one off the list. We had a great time together but I’m pretty sure the KC zoo won’t be making the 40 before 40 list.

One thought on “Party Animals

  1. Pingback: 2012 Fails | Fake Trophy Wife

Comment!

