Baseball

This weekend Ball Boy and I headed down to the greatest city on Earth. Manhattan, KS. We arrived around 8pm on Saturday and headed straight for dinner. The entire drive up I was trying to figure out where we should eat. There are so many great options that I was overwhelmed. Suddenly it hit me, the restaurant my parents always took me to in college: Little Apple Brewery. I hadn’t been there in years.
I decided to try out their beer flight:
They were all awesome! I was partial to the Wildcat Wheat but even the stout was good and I’m not a stout girl.
Anytime there is a paper tablecloth and crayons this is what I write.
We stayed with my sister and brother in law and I awoke to the squeals of my niece, Tava. She’s amazing. Don’t worry, there are plenty of photos of her coming. The boys had planned on golfing but after I read them my Dirty Thirty list (that’s what I’m calling it now), my brother in law decided we should all go out to the driving range. So we did:
Tavasitting 001

Hi pretty girl!

Tavasitting 002

Oh, we bought a new camera so I was trying it out. She was more into walking than playing golf. Me too, Tava, me too.

Tavasitting 003

Just so you know someone was actually swinging, here’s Ball Boy warming up.

Tavasitting 004

And my sister teaching Tava what to do.

Tavasitting 005

Tavasitting 006

She didn’t get it. The boys were wearing matching outfits, basically.

Tavasitting 007

I think she learned this from Easter!

Tavasitting 008

And just so you know I did hit two balls:

Tavasitting 009

Well, let’s be honest, I swung and totally missed twice, then I hit two balls. And I will say again, per Jessica Simpson, boobs DO get in the way of golfing.

We went back home for a snack. Someone likes to feed herself so she got semi nude to eat her yogurt.

Tavasitting 010

Tava likes boys. Last weekend at my parents house she kept climbing into my brother’s lap. This time it was Ball Boy.

Tavasitting 011
Tavasitting 012
Doesn’t this totally make you want him to be a father?! Yeah, not me.

How about this one?

Tavasitting 013

After she got dressed she wanted to read the book again. Ball Boy was happy to help.

Tavasitting 014

Then she tried on his hat:

Tavasitting 015

Tavasitting 016

Seriously, I LOVE HER! And I LOVE her sitting in his lap. I mean, I’d rather she sit in my lap but what are ya gonna do?

We stopped by Varney’s to buy more KSU gear cause ya know, my wardrobe is lacking in that department. Then we met my folks for lunch in Aggieville, then we headed out to the Baseball Stadium.

Tavasitting 017

And I played with my new camera.

Tavasitting 018

There were very few people there and the Cats were looking to sweep Nebraska Omaha. Before the game even started the opposing coach was SCREAMING at the umps. My dad (a former baseball player, coach, and umpire) determined he must have still been mad about something from the game the night before.

The Wildcats are having a rough season but it’s a rebuilding year. They made the post season 3 straight years, 2009, 2010, and 2011.

On Sunday’s the Wildcats wear camo. Ball Boy calls it digital camo. I guess that’s different than regular camo?

Tavasitting 019

I saw someone I know and realized this is my chance to complete the trifecta:

Tavasitting 020

Boom! I now have pictures with Basketball Willie, Football Willie and Baseball Willie. Jackpot! Oh, and I’m wearing my Cotton Bowl Bag so people would know I was one of those big time fans who travels to bowl games and stuff. What?

The game went our way, we won 10-2. We actually left a little early because it started to really rain. One last series of the year, against that other school in the State next weekend. Go STATE!

Ball Boy was determined to get a baseball. He asked me if I’d try flirting with some of the college boys to see what I could come up with. I’m gonna need a much lower cut shirt and maybe a couple beers before I’m at my finest in that department. He walked around for awhile and chatted up one of the security guys. He told him that there is a kid who comes to every game and snags foul balls. He’s been doing it since he was 5. At some point Ball Boy kinda gave up. And then his security guard friend brought a ball over for him. Pays to be nice! And I forgot to take a photo of it!

If you are like me and kinda feel a void about what head coach to crush on now that FM is gone, might I suggest Brad Hill?

Tavasitting 022
Obv that is not a good photo, but click here if you wanna see more. I mean Bill Snyder is a pimp (and if you aren’t following Pimp Bill Snyder on Twitter please do yourself a favor) and I consider new Bball coach Bruce Weber attractive, but I think Brad’s the cutest.
It was a great weekend, I got to cross two (well one and a half) things off myDirty Thirty list and I got to hug on that cute Baby! I desperately miss that town.
Comment!

